The Moonlight Dreamers

16735248_1853534504889199_824384653_o

Rating: 3 Crickets

Author: Siobhan Curham
Illustrator: Kate Forrestor
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Published: 1st July 2016

Blurb:
Amber, Maali, Sky and Rose may be very different, but they all have one thing in common: they’re fed up with being told how to look, what to think and how to act.
They’re not like everyone else and they don’t want to be.
Becoming friends gives them the courage to be themselves.

I got this book as a gift for a friend who had moved away – I bought us both a copy so that we could read it together and discuss it later. I chose this particular book because it is one about friendship and I share my first name with the Author, so it was a slightly cheesy gift.

This book was different to how I imagined it to be, but regardless it was an enjoyable read. It is a relatively quick and easy read (347 pages), but it still manages to cover a range of topics, ranging from broken families, homosexuality, racial issues and the difficulties of fitting into society when all you seem to do is stand out. It was interesting to see how all these topics were tired into one story and that it didn’t clash together.

The story is told, in turn, from each girls point of view which allowed the chance to experience their different worlds, this meant that each topic had its chance to be properly explored in a way that was not overwhelming.

I was able to relate to each of the characters in some way, whether it was because of the situation they were in, their fashion sense, or their hobby, which made me feel connected to the characters and caused them to feel more real. My favourite character in the story though would have to be Sky, as I share her love of writing poetry, but also in the way that she seemed to view the world.

The only real “complaint” I have with the book is that at one point I struggled to get into it and found it hard to read – but I believe that was partly on me and not the book itself. So it ended up starting it and then not touching it for a few weeks. But once I picked it up I finished off the last 3/4 of it in a matter of hours.

Overall it was a good, fun read. I loved how throughout the book there are little sections where it shows a letter or a blog post or the emails shared between the characters. It is definitely worth a read, and by the end of it you’ll be left with some interesting quotes that just might help you, as they helped the girls through their journey.

Find This Book:
Good Reads
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26198206-the-moonlight-dreamers
Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/Moonlight-Dreamers-Siobhan-Curham/dp/1406365823

Leave a Reply

