Ice Like Fire

17623002_1874327186143264_831216141_oRating: 3 Crickets

Title: Ice Like Fire
Author: Sara Raasch
Illustrator: Erin Fitzsimmons and Jeff Huang
Publisher: Balzer + Bray – an imprint of HarperCollins
Published: 13th October 2015

Blurb
It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared – thanks largely to the help of Cordell.

Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous; Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. The last time the world has access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders Meira and Theron on a mission to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe – even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves.

Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Jannuari – leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. So when Meira leaves to search for allies, Mather decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect his people from new threats?

As the web of power and deception is woven tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom – and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter but for the world.

It seems like only yesterday, yet a whole lifetime away, when I was putting up the review for Snow Like Ashes. Now I’m doing the sequel, and hopefully won’t be too long before I’m doing the third, Frost Like Night.

I was excited going into this book. I enjoyed the first book to the series and I had high hopes for this book. And while I did enjoy reading it, it was also a bit of a let down.

I easily got into the first few chapters – I liked how the story started off with Meira fighting snowmen in a clearing, to me the scene just felt right and it was a good reminder of the characters personalities.

However, it didn’t take long for it to almost become a struggle to keep reading. I was enjoying finding out more about the other kingdoms and exploring a bit of their culture. But the characters were starting to get on my nerves. I understand that the characters were trying to adjust to their new situation, but I found that there was a little too much political stuff going on and characters – particularly Meira – didn’t seem to be acting true to themselves. Again, it was understandable as this seemed to be the theme of book, but in my opinion it just took her a little too long to properly snap out it and be who she is, be the character that I fell in love with in the first book.

The story switches between Miera’s POV in first person, and Mather’s POV in third person. I found this to be an interesting technique, but I also enjoyed being able to see things from Mather’s POV. The only fault was that both characters seemed to be a bit repetitive. While they were dealing with different situations, and the focus was on their thoughts and feelings on what was going on, these thoughts were revisited over and over. But while this did annoy me and there were times I found it hard to keep reading, I did realize that it reflected how we ourselves would think. We, or at I, do overthink things and revisit the same thing over and over, so it did make sense that the characters would do the same.

Fortunately, about half way through (or maybe two thirds) Meira does start to snap out of it and things begin moving again. After that I really got into the story again and it was no longer a struggle to read. Like with the first book, it seems that I enjoyed the second half of the book more than the first.

There were a few parallels between the characters that were explored a bit in this story, mainly between Meira, Sir and Nessa, and Mather and Sir. I enjoyed seeing how the characters were similar, and what this meant for them as they dealt with the situations they were faced with.

I’m also happy with how the characters ended up at the end of the book. Mostly, there were some unfortunate events. I’m mainly referring to the couples that did or didn’t end up together. There were certainly some interesting developments – although they might only seem interesting to me… There was on character though (and I won’t name names just in case I spoil anything) that I think was badly done by. I really liked this character in the first book, and they’re kinda ruined for me now. It was a shame, and I can understand why it happened, I just wish it happened to a different character…

There were a LOT of questions that needed answering within this story. At the end of the book enough of my questions were answered so that I wasn’t left frustrated, but there were still enough questions to leave me wanting to keep reading and find out more.

Overall, Ice Like Fire wasn’t as enjoyable as Snow Like Ashes. I did struggle to read the first half of the book because the characters were annoying me, but I enjoyed getting to explore more of Primoria. It is still a good book, and I recommend reading it.

Author’s Website:
http://sararaasch.tumblr.com

http://seesarawrite.blogspot.com.au

Find this book:
Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/Ice-Like-Fire-Snow-Ashes/dp/006228696X

GoodReads
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17404295-ice-like-fire

Other Reviews
Unprinted Protagonist
http://unprintedprotagonist.com/book-review-ice-like-fire-sara-raasch/

Leave a Reply

